/ About us


JOY 94.9 is an independent voice for the diverse lesbian gay bi-sexual transgender & intersex communities listened to by 470,000 people in Melbourne and more online (audience figures from a Survey conducted by McNair Ingenuity Research 2018) . Access podcasts, blogs and listen online to award winning music & talk, news & current affairs, arts & cultural programs.

The station provides over 450 free Community Service Announcements on behalf of organisations that serve and support our community. The station is fuelled by the dedication of almost 300 volunteers and only a handful of paid core staff. JOY 94.9 is proudly self-funded through sponsorship and most importantly membership and donations. Learn more on how to connect with JOY 94.9

JOY 94.9 is a member of the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia.

Board of Directors

JOY 94.9 is incorporated in Victoria as JOY Melbourne Inc. The Board of Directors is elected by the members of the association to oversee the direction of the station and ensure its statutory obligations are met. It develops policies and employs staff to undertake duties that will achieve its strategic goals.

The Board has identified the following strategic objectives, we will:

  1. review strategic objectives on an annual basis and present these objectives to our membership;
  2. review programming policies to ensure their content will remain relevant to our community, audience and sector;
  3. identify, assess and implement current and emerging technologies for sustainable growth of our services;
  4. develop and implement a clear and sound financial reporting framework;
  5. actively work to create a welcoming, supporting and collaborative working environment.

Mission Statement

JOY 94.9 is an LGBTI volunteer-based community radio station committed to providing a voice for the diverse LGBTI communities, enabling freedom of expression, the breaking down of isolation and the celebration of our culture, achievements and pride.


The purpose for which JOY Melbourne is established is to provide the opportunity for freedom of expression, the breaking down of isolation and the celebration of the culture, achievements and pride of the diverse gay and lesbian community.

Annual General Meeting

2018 Annual General Meeting held 7 October 2018

2017 Annual General Meeting  held 22 October 2017

2016 Annual General meeting  held 23 October 2016

2015 Annual General Meeting  held 25 October 2015

2014 Annual General Meeting  held 15 November 2014

2013 Annual General Meeting  held 27 October 2013

2012 Annual General Meeting  held 01 October 2012

Rules of Association

Download the JOY 94.9 Rules of Association as approved by the Members at a Special General Meeting on 26 July 2014.

Community Broadcasting Codes of Practice

The Community Broadcasting Association of Australia is responsible for maintaining the Community Radio Broadcasting Codes of Practice.

Award Winning Radio

JOY has won many national and local awards over the years.

History & Future

Watch our history in video – thanks to Longitude Multimedia for putting the video together.