Annual General Meeting 2018


JOY Melbourne Inc. annual general meeting was held Sunday 7 October 2018 3:05pm at Level 10, 225 Bourke Street, Melbourne.

Thank you to retiring board members Andrew THORP, Tanya MATTHEWSON, Andrew McNAMARA

Joining the existing directors, Melinda RICH, Rachel REES, Jane SMITH, Marcus KING, Kanthi FLYNN are the newly elected and re-elected director:

  • Priscilla JEFFERY *
  • Amanda MILLAR *
  • Josh PEARSON *

* new board member
^ re-elected board member

Left to Right: Priscilla Jeffery, Rachel Rees, Josh Pearson, Amanda Millar, Melinda Rich, Kanthi Flynn, Ian Graystone, Jane Smith, Marcus King.

JOY Board – Terms of Office

The current board of directors and their updated terms of office:

Rachel REES 1 2019
Melinda RICH 1 2019
Marcus KING 2 2020
Kanthi FLYNN
*Resigned 13/2/2019
2 2020
Jane SMITH 2 2020
* Resigned 21/6/2019
3 2021
Priscilla JEFFERY 3 2021
Amanda MILLAR 3 2021
Josh PEARSON 3 2021

JOY Board – Office Bearers

At the first meeting of the new JOY board held following the close of the AGM at 5:20pm, the executive office bearers elected are:

    • President: Melinda RICH
    • Vice Presidents: Marcus KING & Jane SMITH
    • Secretary: Rachel REES
    • Treasurer: Ian GRAYSTONE


At the first formal Board Meeting, the board will elect the Sub-committee chairs and deputy chairs.

Addam Stobbs Award for Broadcasting Excellence

The JOY board is pleased to announce the award recipient is:

Saturday Magazine

Tass Mousaferiadis & Melinda Rich

The award reflects the significant contribution this program has made to JOY in a year when advocacy was so crucial to support our community through a divisive debate over marriage equality.  Saturday Magazine not only reports on news relevant to our community, but it generates thoughtful and considered debate and conversation on issues that matter to us. It is also regularly amongst the most downloaded JOY podcasts, reflecting that it is a ‘go to’ program for our listeners seeking to stay connected with happenings in our community. The program’s level of engagement with political, community, commercial, and cultural leaders has never been higher and more respected. Its excellence in programming reminds us that JOY serves as a strong voice to uplift, inform and empower our community.

Congratulations to Macca, Tass, Fiona, Paul and the entire team that delivers Saturday Magazine.

Anne Hamilton Award for Volunteering Excellence

The JOY Board is pleased to announce the award recipient is:

Pete Holmes

Tennille Moisel, Pete Holmes, Anne Hamilton

Pete has been a volunteer since April 2017 and is currently the JOY Podcast Coordinator. Podcasting is an increasingly important channel for JOY as we seek to broaden our reach and impact, giving our listener the choice to listen to our content at a time and place that suits them. Having a committed and dedicated volunteer like Pete coordinating JOY’s podcasts help us achieve our aspirations in this space. Since moving into the Podcast Coordinator role, Pete has established a strong team of more than 40 podcasters, and he has taken the lead on setting up training for new podcasters. He actively recruits podcasters for shows requesting podcast support, and has also built robust reporting for our podcast service, ensuring we can track how our podcasts  perform. Pete is also incredibly friendly and is very enthusiastic about JOY, always offering to help where he can.

Congratulations Pete.