/ Miss Chatelaine / Music / Summer holiday – Show #93 (part 1), 13 January 2019


Miller is a local singer-songwriter, music lover and host of JOY’s Jam Sessions who sometimes fills in for Katie as host of Miss Chatelaine. Today she is Katie’s co-host! In between playing some summery, shimmery songs suitable for the season, Miller and Katie talk about the joys of introducing your friends to songs and artists they might not know, and the many ways of finding new music. They give a particular shout-out to the Australian Music Radio Airplay Project (AMRAP), which distributes music in many styles to community radio presenters, and to all those people who share info on social media about the music they are listening to. Here is the playlist:

  • Miss Chatelaine – k.d. lang
  • Forgotten Hallelujahs – Idylls
  • Northern Sky – Nick Drake
  • Boom Town – Steel City Sue
  • Devotion to the Ocean – Luke Fox
  • Thoughts of You Without Me – Duncan Saige
  • You Know – Bobby Alu
  • Summer Holiday – Pete Allan Collective
  • The Purchaser’s Option – Rhiannon Giddens

Above: Pete Allan Collective’s ‘Summer Holiday’ single cover; artwork by Pete Allan


About the author: Katie


Katie Purvis is a long-time JOY presenter and former leader of JOY's Social Media Team. She currently hosts Miss Chatelaine (Sundays 9–11am), a show devoted to folk, roots, acoustic and pop music. The tracks on her playlists are mostly new, mostly Australian, mostly independent releases, and often by LGBTIQ artists.


Recent posts in Music