/ Miss Chatelaine / Music / No time for cryin’ – Show #97 (part 1), 17 February 2019


Hour one of this week’s show features fab new tunes from Australian duos AlfanAnt and Winter Witches, a call to activism by R&B and gospel legend Mavis Staples, and two tracks from the great new album by US folk-rock artist Cass McCombs. There are also a couple of beautiful older tracks by Melbourne’s Khristian Mizzi and Adelaide’s Electric Fields. Here is the playlist:

  • Miss Chatelaine – k.d. lang
  • Hey River – Khristian Mizzi
  • Comes a Time – AlfanAnt
  • Head in the Clouds – AlfanAnt
  • Nina – Electric Fields
  • War – Winter Witches ft. MxHex
  • No Time for Cryin’ – Mavis Staples
  • Real Life – Cass McCombs
  • Sleeping Volcanoes – Cass McCombs

Mavis Staples’ Live in London album cover (above)


About the author: Katie


Katie Purvis is a long-time JOY presenter and former leader of JOY's Social Media Team. She currently hosts Miss Chatelaine (Sundays 9–11am), a show devoted to folk, roots, acoustic and pop music. The tracks on her playlists are mostly new, mostly Australian, mostly independent releases, and often by LGBTIQ artists.


Recent posts in Music