/ JOY Music Mix / New music additions / New music to weekdays (24 May 2017)

In Your Arms
(Hollaphonic Remix Edit)
Alex Preston
Don’t Grow Old
Melissa Tkautz The Key (IND)
Camila Cabello Crying in the Club (SME)
Fred Falke
ft. Jake Isaac
Don’t Give Up (UMA)
Selena Gomez Bad Liar (INT/UMA)
Kirstin Break a Little (SME)
Nights With You (SME)

We kick off our new music this week with a duo who are huge favourites on our airwaves not only because they are slaying it across the world with their amazing production, performance and DJ appearances, but because they are well and truly local girls who are kicking butt. When they’re in Melbourne, twin sisters Liv and Mim still visit their mum and dad in Ivanhoe.We are of course referring to DJ-producer-performers Nervo. The girls’ latest single, In My Arms, is an all-Nervo affair with fantastic vocals from Mim herself (just like their first independently released single on JOY in 2004, ‘Not Enough’). From some great remixes just shipped our way, we’ve selected the slightly retro-house-feel version from Dubai-based British DJ-producers Hollaphonic.

Sydney-based producer Alex Preston has decided to start his own label, Basement Sound, and kicking off proceedings is his own classic-house affair, ‘Don’t Grow Old’.

Real Housewives of Sydney star Melissa Tkautz is no stranger to our airwaves, with both a TV and pop music career stretching back to the early 90s, with the chart-topping single ‘Read My Lips’ and a starring role as Nikki in the top-rating TV soap E Street’. She covered the Sheryl Lee Ralph classic ‘In the Evening’ with Sydney producer Nick Skitz last year just prior to her Housewives premiere, and now she’s back with a brand new original song, ‘The Key’, written and produced by UK-based Da Beatfreakz.

Former Fifth Harmony member Camila Cabello has launched her solo career with all guns blazing. The Cuban-born American singer-songwriter’s debut single, Crying in the Club, is fire, and is sure to set charts alight worldwide.

LA-based French DJ-producer Fred Falke has been producing and remixing for myriad huge acts for the past 15 years, and he has a score of big hits to his credit. He’s teamed up with a relative newcomer, London-based singer-songwriter Jake Isaac (currently supporting Elton John across his UK tour), for his latest single, Don’t Give Up.

American singer-songwriter Selena Gomez is still riding a wave of chart success with her 2x platinum single, ‘It Ain’t Me’ with Kygo. Her new single, ‘Bad Liar’, is almost a complete departure from anything she has done before, however. We think it’s a little Lily Allen in style and we like it. We think you will too.

You may not know the name Kirstin Maldonado, but you should recognise her as the only female and a founding member of the highly successful Texas-based a cappella group Pentatonix, who have released seven studio albums, won three Grammy awards, and sold over six million albums worldwide. She is now mononymously known as Kirstin, and her debut solo single, Break a Little, should be the first of many from a forthcoming debut solo EP.

Danish singer-songwriter MØ’s biggest hits so far as a solo artist, ‘Final Song’ (Aus #12) and ‘Don’t Leave’ (Aus #11), haven’t lived up to the expectation set by her feature performances on Major Lazer’s ‘Lean On’ (Aus #1) and Cold Water (Aus #2). She’ll be hoping to turn this around and score a solo top-ten hit with Nights With You. With the slightly but ever so incidental same-sex attraction theme featuring in the video of what we think is a top song anyway, we really couldn’t resist this one.

Set your alarm and tune into Michael on the Six at Six for the newest songs to the mix, every weekday at 6am Melbourne time.


About the author: Chris


Station Music director.

Former presenter of the C+C Drive Factory.


Recent posts in New music additions