/ JOY Music Mix / New music additions / New music to weekdays (12 February 2020)

Human Nature Nobody Just Like You (SME)
Dami Im Marching On (The Orchard)
MOBS School’s Out (Rude Records)
5 Seconds of Summer No Shame (EMI)
Måns Zelmerlöw ft Dami Im Walk With Me (WMA)
Khalid x Disclosure Know Your Worth (SME / RCA)

With this lot of new tunes, you’ll be wanting to keep it locked on JOY all day long.

The boys are back! Four-piece group Human Nature had a massive 2019, getting a Medal of the Order of Australia, performing their 2000th show on the Las Vegas strip, celebrating 30 years as a band, and being inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame. They begin the new year with the promise of a new EP, Good Good Life, and a brand-new single. ‘Nobody Just Like You’ was produced by American duo Grey and is all about that person you fell in love with, whether it was last week or last century. It’s exactly what you need for Valentine’s Day.

It’s a double addition for national treasure Dami Im. Dedicated to strong women, ‘Marching On’ is a song that seems timid and shy at the beginning but builds to a powerful climax by the end. It’s a nod to the realisation that while we consider our mothers to be perfect and unafraid of what life throws at them, they’re still just women walking through the storm with the same frailties as ourselves. Dami has also teamed up with Swedish singer and Eurovision winner Måns Zelmerlöw, to release a rework of his 2019 release ‘Walk With Me’. After performing it together at Eurovision: Australia Decides, the Eurovision world was treated to the news that Dami will try her hand in the 2021 comp. We look forward to it.

Melbourne-based indie-pop group MOBS seem to be able to do no wrong. They’ve released the fourth single from their forthcoming album, Cinema Paradiso, and it channels some major 80s vibes. Inspired by the 1986 comedy Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, ‘School’s Out’ combines the right amount of synths, drum pad percussion and click track to bring back all your hairspray, bangs and shoulder-pad memories. We reckon you’ll be digging out the Atari and throwing on your neon T-shirt after hearing this one.

Aussie band 5SOS are releasing their fourth studio album, Calm, next month. ‘No Shame’ is the third single and delivers the pop-rock you’d expect from these award-winning lads. It seems being confined to a leopard room has sent the band slightly crazy, but we’ll let you draw your own conclusions from the music video.

American singer Khalid has enlisted the help of British brother duo Disclosure to bring some bass and rhythm to his new single. Centring around the key lyric of “Find someone who loves you at your worst”, ‘Know Your Worth’ sees Khalid singing into a mirror. “I feel like the message in this song is something that I needed to hear at the time I was writing it,” he told Apple Music, adding “I hope it resonates with a lot of people who need to hear that kind of message.” Grab your mirror and join right in.

Can’t get enough of JOY’s uplifting music mix? Follow the new music playlist on Spotify.

Set your alarm and join Ti on the Six at Six for the newest songs to the mix, every weekday at 6am Melbourne time.


About the author: Michael


Liking the music you hear on JOY for your workday? You've got Michael to thank for it. He's the Music Director, and in charge of Melbourne's most uplifting music mix.
Plus he's the man behind the CBAA Award winning babblePOP! (Best New Music Show 2015) and the executive producer of the JOYEurovision team.

Keep in touch with Michael: Tweet & insta @maybemick
Keep up to date with JOY's music mix: Tweet @JOY949MD
Enjoy more of JOYEurovision: Tweet & insta @JOY_Eurovision
Follow along with babblePOP!: Tweet @babblePOPonJOY


Recent posts in New music additions