Hide and Seek

27 Mar 2014

8 The Play

News & Politics, Society & Culture

8 The Play

In 2008, Proposition 8 re-wrote the Californian state constitution to ban marriage for gay and lesbian citizens. In response, two couples filed suit against Prop 8 in the Federal Court.

In a world first, JOY 94.9 volunteers have produced a radio play version of 8 The Play, written by Academy-award winning screenwriter Dustin Lance Black.

8 The Play demystifies the debate around marriage equality by chronicling the landmark trial of Perry v. Schwarzenegger, and uncovers the arguments used to justify bans on marriage for gay and lesbian couples.

Cast in order of appearance

Broadcast journalist
Emma O’Connor
James Findlay
James Rothery
Sandy Stier
Sarah Kilalea
Kris Perry
Amanda Hart
Clerk of Courts
Michael Strauss
Mr Olson
Avi Miller
Judge Vaughan Walker
David Moyle
Mr Boise
Tony Pitman
Mr Cooper
Andy Bell
Paul Katami
Jacob Holman
Jeffrey Zarillo
Zeke Farrell
Dr Nancy Cott
Shannon Gillies
Dr Meyer
Jeffrey Trollope
Evan Wolfson
Callum Padgett
Maggie Gallagher
Sue Wilkinson
Ryan Kendall
Nelson Barber
Dr Herek
Philip Jones
Dr Segura
Patrick Weyland-Smith
Dr Tam
Shane Tse
Mr Blankenhorn
Brent Stevenson
Mark Hadden


Stephen Barber
Avi Miller and Stephen Barber
Sound Engineer and Editor
Kyle Evans


Ep 164 – Around the World in 80 Lays

17 Apr 2024

Ep 164 – Around the World in 80 Lays

Sex Work, Society & Culture

  Content creator Down Under Bri returns to Hide and Seek to recount his journey to the JustForFans conference. Bri shares ...

Ep 163 – Me and You and Everyone We Blow

11 Apr 2024

Ep 163 – Me and You and Everyone We Blow

Society & Culture

Open relationships? For gays? Groundbreaking. Michael, Tim, and Jon explore what it means when your relationship is flexible. As all ...

Ep 162 – Fantastic Mr Fox

27 Mar 2024

Ep 162 – Fantastic Mr Fox

Full episodes, Interviews, Sex Work

Globetrotting twink and certified smol boi Benny Fox aka @melbournetwink returns to share his experiences of sex work, content creation, ...