/ JOY Music Mix / New music additions / New music to weekdays (27 May 2020)

Lady Gaga ft Ariana Grande Rain on Me (UMA / INT)
Sia Together (WMA / ATL)
Louis the Child ft Vera Blue Nobody Like You (UMA / INT)
PNAU ft Vlossom Lucky (etcetc)
Hayden James & Icona Pop Right Time (future classic)
Foxes Love Not Loving You (PIAS / INERTIA)

Big names, big songs and big feelings – it’s a huge week of new additions to Melbourne’s most uplifting music mix.

It’s one of the year’s biggest collabs and we’re loving every second of it. Americans Lady Gaga and Ariana Grande team up for ‘Rain on Me’, which comes ahead of the release of the bisexual singer-songwriter’s sixth studio album, Chromatica, on Friday. Described by Gaga as a “celebration of tears”, the single channels 90s pop, dance and house to deliver a banger of a follow-up to ‘Stupid Love’.

In 2007, bisexual singer-songwriter Sia wrote a short story about a woman becoming the guardian of her half-sister. This year, that story will leap onto the big screen as Music. The Australian singer wrote ten of the songs on the movie’s soundtrack, and ‘Together’ is the lead single. We think it will bring a smile to your face.

Chicago-based duo Louis the Child are releasing their debut album, Here For Now, on 12 June. The fifth single from that album features the vocals of Australian singer Vera Blue. ‘Nobody Like You’ is a song full of joy and love, bringing something upbeat to your iso workday.

Positive emotions erupt from ‘Lucky’, the latest release from Aussie trio PNAU. One of the group’s members, Nick Littlemore, has his fingers in other projects. One of those projects is Vlossom, alongside Alister Wright from Cloud Control. Alister’s vocals bring an ethereal quality to PNAU’s trademark dance-floor sound. Go and thank your lucky stars after you wrap your ears around this one.

Australian songwriter-producer Hayden James has been busy streaming sets from his Sydney backyard every Saturday afternoon on his YouTube channel while in isolation. If you’ve been tuning in, you may have heard his newest banger. ‘Right Time’ was written to bring fun and positivity to the world, no matter the situation you’re in. To increase the fun levels, the song features the vocals of Swedish duo Icona Pop. It’s always the right time to dance to this one.

We’ve been waiting three years to hear something new from Foxes. Finally that something new is here. ‘Love Not Loving You’ is the kind of pop we have come to expect from the British singer-songwriter, where the abundance of musical elements turn into a brash, exciting and bouncy pop song. It’s all about falling in love with yourself to become a strong, independent, empowered and happy person. We reckon it’ll make you do just that.

Can’t get enough of JOY’s uplifting music mix? Follow the new music playlist on Spotify.

Set your alarm and join Ti on the Six at Six for the newest songs to Melbourne’s most uplifting music mix, every weekday at 6am Melbourne time.


About the author: Michael


Liking the music you hear on JOY for your workday? You've got Michael to thank for it. He's the Music Director, and in charge of Melbourne's most uplifting music mix.
Plus he's the man behind the CBAA Award winning babblePOP! (Best New Music Show 2015) and the executive producer of the JOYEurovision team.

Keep in touch with Michael: Tweet & insta @maybemick
Keep up to date with JOY's music mix: Tweet @JOY949MD
Enjoy more of JOYEurovision: Tweet & insta @JOY_Eurovision
Follow along with babblePOP!: Tweet @babblePOPonJOY


Recent posts in New music additions