Annual General Meeting 2014


JOY Melbourne Inc. annual general meeting was held Saturday November 15 2014 2pm at Level 10, 225 Bourke Street Melbourne.

Annual General Meeting 2014

Joining the existing directors Trish KERIN, Geoffrey DEVINE, Sammy CAMERON, Cassie CHADWICK and Laurie CATO-SMITH are the newly-elected directors:

  • Melinda RICH
  • Stephanie AMIR
  • Nathan MILLER

Thank you to the retiring board members: Melanie SABA and Zemeel SABA

JOY Board – Terms of Office

The current board of directors and their current term of office is as follows, with new board members indicated by *:

Board member Term in years Term expires
Jed GILBERT* 2 2016
Sammy CAMERON 3 2016
Trish KERIN 3 2016
Cassie CHADWICK 2 2015
Geoffrey DEVINE 2 2015
Laurie CATO-SMITH 2 2015
Melinda RICH* 3 2017
Nathan MILLER* 3 2017
Stephanie AMIR* 3 2017

JOY Board – Office Bearers

At the first meeting of the new JOY board held following the close of the AGM at 4pm, the executive office bearers elected are:

President: Jed GILBERT
Vice-President: Trish KERIN
Secretary: Sammy CAMERON
Chair of Finance & Audit Committee: Melinda RICH

Sub-committees – Chairperson

The sub-committee chairpersons elected are:

Chair of Membership Committee: Nathan MILLER
Chair of Patrons’ Committee: Jed GILBERT
Chair of Performance Committee: Trish KERIN
Chair of Programming Committee: Geoffrey DEVINE
Chair of Risk Committee: Cassie CHADWICK
Chair of Technical Advisory Committee: Cassie CHADWICK

Life membership

The JOY Board is pleased to award the following member honorary life membership:

Chris Jameson

Chris JamesonHonorary life membership is awarded by the JOY Board to recognise a member for their extraordinary commitment and contribution to the purpose of JOY 94.9. When you ask the staff and volunteers at JOY about Chris Jameson’s contribution to the station it becomes very obvious that he is many things to many people. During his years at JOY Chris has contributed as a presenter, program director, music director, technical / IT support and so much more. His diverse skill base and passion for the station makes him the ultimate team player and an asset to everything he puts his hand up for and has his hand in. He exhibits a true professionalism to everything he does and brings much skill, positive energy and commitment to his many roles, regardless of if they were paid or as a volunteer. His passion for music and the sound of JOY is evident in the many hours he dedicates to his role as Music Director and in turn his push to help move JOY in to a new era through implementing the digital playout system and all that comes with it. He is patient, kind, seemingly tireless and a true champion of the station, it’s mission and purpose.

Addam Stobbs Award for Broadcast Excellence

This award is presented to a volunteer who has excelled at creating programming that fulfils the JOY Mission Statement and has demonstrated over the past twelve months their capacity to connect, represent and celebrate our diverse community through programming that uplifts, informs and empowers. The 2014 Addam Stobbs Award for Broadcast Excellence was awarded to:

Paul Anthony

Paul AnthonyIn his 10 years at the station, Paul Anthony is best known for contributing to the daytime programming team as a presenter and producer. Within the JOY daytime format, Paul always incorporates a strong community focus to each show he does that brings an Inclusive, empowering and diverse range of content to listeners each week. He has mentored and assisted many new presenters on air and has in turn given these volunteers a voice and the opportunity to speak to their experiences as well, leading to many memorable moments on air. His commitment to JOY, community radio and the broader community each week is a great example to the power of community radio and what can be achieved every day on every show when the microphones go on.

Anne Hamilton Award for Volunteering Excellence

This award is presented to a volunteer who has excelled at performing their volunteer work in support of the JOY Mission and Values over the past 12 months. The JOY Mission and Values are achieved by staff and volunteers working together and observing strict standards of responsibility, ethical conduct, and seeking to maintain the trust and confidence of our staff / volunteer team, listeners and members.

David Moyle

David MoyleDavid has been involved in the station for the past 4 years and during this time he is probably best known for bringing jazz to JOY through his popular music program ‘Bent Notes’. Behind the scenes, David has also become an an integral part of the volunteer team and has contributed greatly to the technical team, assisted with training and is a regular panel operator on site and back at the station for the many outside broadcasts JOY undertakes each year. His great attitude and easy going nature makes him a pleasure to deal with at all times. David  is the ultimate quiet achiever, a fantastic all-rounder and is always willing to help out and help others and is a well deserving recipient for this prestigious station award.